Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > Who will be Ahmedabad’s Mayor? Here are the probable names

Who will be Ahmedabad’s Mayor? Here are the probable names


After the BJP won a sweeping victory in the AMC polls, it is likely to announce the mayor of the city on Wednesday following a meeting of elected corporators.

The names of Arvind Parmar, Kirit Parmar, Himanshu Vada, and Dr. Chandrakant Chauhan are being tossed for the post of mayor.

The meeting of the elected representatives will be held on February 10 and the name of the mayor, deputy mayor, and standing committee chairman will be announced in the meeting. After the name of the mayor is announced the members of other committees will also be declared.

Also Read: Ayesha suicide: 3 houses, 4 shops in Rajasthan, yet Arif wanted dowry from his wife

Sources in the know said the BJP could pull a surprise and bring in an entirely new face.

The name of Gautam Patel, Hitesh Barot, and Jatin Patel is in the fray as Standing Committee Chairman. Jatin Patel, a corporator from the Ghatlodia ward has been a member of the standing committee and has also headed several other committees earlier.

He is a part of the Anandiben Patel group and this may go against his favor, sources said.

Hitesh Barot is the first-time corporator from the Thaltej ward and Gautam Patel is the senior corporator from Isanpur ward. Both Barot and Patel are believed to be part of the Amit Shah camp.

The name of former corporator Pravin Patel and Bipin Patel is being discussed for the post of AMTS chairman.

A meeting of all the elected corporators has been called in Paldi given the COVID situation. The BJP will propose its name for mayor and deputy mayor and the Opposition Congress will also put up its candidates. A vote will take place and whoever wins will be declared as the winner of the respective post.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here