Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > West Bengal Bye-Elections: BJP Whitewashed, TMC wins all 3 seats

West Bengal Bye-Elections: BJP Whitewashed, TMC wins all 3 seats


Kolkata: BJP, even after a good performance could not form government, on the other hand there is no good news for the saffron party from West Bengal also. The results of the bye-elections held on November 25 in three assembly constituencies in West Bengal has been declared and the BJP has been whitewashed.

The TMC candidate has emerged victorious at the Kaliaganj seat. While the TMC has also dominated the Kharagpur seat. Here, Pradip Sarkar won with 20,811 votes. Voting for the bye elections was held on 25th November.

After the victory in bye elections Mamta Banerjee said that this is peoples victory, this the victory of development. The people of West Bengal have rejected the BJP.

Elections were held on Kharagpur, Karimpur and Kaliaganj constituencies.

There was fierce battle between the TMC, the BJP and the Congress on all three seats, but the TMC has succeeded.

The Left and the Congress fought this election in the coalition. In which the CPM contested candidates in Kharagpur and Kaliaganj in Congress and Karimpur.

The by-election was held at the Kaliaganj seat following the death of Congress MLA Pramthanath Roy. The Kharagpur seat was vacated, after BJP MLA Dilip Ghosh was elected from the Medinipur Lok Sabha seat this year. The bye-elections were held in the Karimnagar assembly seat in Nadiya district after the victory of TMC MLA Mahua Moitra from Krishnanagar Lok Sabha seat.

Apart from this, BJP candidate Chandrapant has won in Pithoragarh seat in Uttarakhand.