Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > Uttarakhand CM Tirath Singh Rawat resigns after less than 4 months in office

Uttarakhand CM Tirath Singh Rawat resigns after less than 4 months in office


Tirath Singh had taken charge on March 10 this year, replacing Trivendra Singh Rawat

Dehradun: After just 114 days in office, Uttarakhand Chief Minister, Tirath Singh Rawat resigned from the post late on Friday night. Accompanied by his Cabinet colleagues, he submitted the resignation to Governor Baby Rani Maurya at Raj Bhavan at around 11 pm.

Tirath Singh, an MP from Pauri Garhwal, had been chosen by BJP to replace Trivendra Singh Rawat who was asked by the party leadership to quit

The BJP had hoped to keep discontent in check until the elections next year; however, those hopes have been dashed for now.

Behind this move is a Constitutional provision that requires the office-bearer to get elected to the Assembly within six months of assuming charge. Since Tirath Singh was not an elected MLA, he would have to get elected within the given deadline. The chances of a by-election were slim, partly to be due to the Covid-19 situation and the criticism over elections held in other states earlier this year.

Tirath Singh had time until September 10; however, the unlikelihood of being elected had been cited as his reason to resign without waiting. As per rule, by-elections cannot be held in the last year of a government’s term. Assembly elections in Uttarakhand are due next year.

Tirath Singh submitted his resignation hours after returning to Dehradun. He was in Delhi for three days where he is said to have met BJP President JP Nadda twice and Home Minister Amit Shah once. This was his third visit to the national capital in a month.

After his resignation, Tirath Singh said that he “found it appropriate to resign considering the consititutional crisis”.

It now remains to be seen who BJP will bring in as the new CM for the last few months of the current government’s tenure.


Only one CM has had a full tenure in Uttarakhand till now

Since its formation in 2000, Uttarakhand has had 9 chief ministers. However, the only one to complete his tenure in office was ND Tiwari from Congress. No elected CM from BJP has managed to sit in office throughout the entire term.



To read the latest news in Gujarati click here