Gujarat Exclusive > Politics > Reverse Migration: TMC defectors who joined BJP queuing up to return

Reverse Migration: TMC defectors who joined BJP queuing up to return


In yet another embarrassment for the BJP that failed to clinch power from Mamata Banerjee in West Bengal, several leaders of the saffron party who left the Trinamool Congress to join BJP are again queuing up to rejoin TMC.

Notably, before the polls, these TMC turncoats, including MLAs and MPs, made a beeline to join BJP hoping that the party will win the polls. With so many leaders leaving the TMC, political experts had said that the party will collapse due to the exodus.

However, the result was exactly the opposite, with TMC registering a thumping victory winning 213 of the 292 Assembly seats where elections were held. The BJP that was confident to secure at least 200 seats in the Bengal polls could manage to win only 77 seats. Its tally further went down with two BJP MPs, who had contested and won the Assembly polls, tendering their resignation to continue in the Lok Sabha.

Who wants to return to TMC

Among those who want to return to TMC include former MLA Sonali Guha and footballer-turned-politician Dipendu Biswas. While Guha feels that her condition is like “fish out of water”, Biswas has written to TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee that he wants to return to the party.

Also Read: India records over 1.27 lakh COVID-19 cases, 2,795 deaths in a day

Media reports suggested that Sarala Murmu and Amal Acharya are also considering their return to TMC. There is also a discussion going on in political circles about former minister Rajib Banerjee willingness to return to TMC.

What BJP said

Bengal BJP leader Shamik Bhattacharya said, “There was a perception that the BJP is coming to power and the Trinamool will lose power. A lot of people joined our party crying and now they are leaving laughing. People are watching this. People can see why they came to us and why they are leaving.”

What TMC said

TMC spokesperson Kunal Ghosh said that not just leaders who lost the election but seven-eight MLAs and three-four MPs of the saffron party have expressed their wish to return to TMC.

Ghosh said, “We have to honour the sentiments of party cadres, too. These leaders left the party just before elections and the workers and leaders managed to win the election under the leadership of Mamata Banerjee.” He asserted that the party leadership is yet to take a call on the return of these leaders.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here