Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > Rajya Sabha polls for 18 seats to be held on June 19

Rajya Sabha polls for 18 seats to be held on June 19


The Election Commission on Monday said that the polls to 18 Rajya Sabha seats will be held on June 19. The elections had been deferred due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the resultant nationwide lockdown.

Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Jharkhad, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan Manipur and Meghalaya will see polls for the Rajya Sabha seats. Four seats each are vacant for the upper house from Andhra Pradesh and Gujarat, two from Jharkhand, three each from Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan and one each from Manipur and Meghalaya.

The counting of votes will be held on June 19 itself, the Commission said in a statement.

Earlier,the Election Commission had announced May 21 as the date for holding Rajya Sabha polls in Maharashtra, despite a pandemic. Chief minister Uddhav Thackeray was among contestants. The polls were announced after Thackeray wrote to the PM about the matter.

Thackeray was sworn in on November 28, 2019 and had to be elected from either of the house by May 27, failing which he would have had to step down.