Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > Rajya Sabha elections in 5 states today; voting underway

Rajya Sabha elections in 5 states today; voting underway

  • AAP nominees in Punjab, the sixth state, have won uncontested

New Delhi: With several MPs in Rajya Sabha retiring, elections for five states will be held on Thursday. The counting of votes will be held after 5 pm.
Elections for 13 seats were to be held during the day. However, five nominees of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) from Punjab have won uncontested because of its massive strength in the Assembly following the recent victory in the state elections.
That leaves eight seats in five states — Himachal Pradesh (1), Assam (2), Kerala (3), Nagaland (1) and Tripura (1).
In Kerala, Congress has fielded a woman candidate, Jebi Mather, for the first time in 42 years.

Retiring MPs get farewell
Rajya Sabha chairman Venkaiah Naidu had announced on Wednesday that there would be no Zero Hour or Question Hour on Thursday so that retiring members and other leaders could speak on their farewell.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi, too, spoke on the occasion.
He bid farewell to the 72 MPs, noting that future generations would miss their experience. He said, “come again” to them.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here