Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > Rajya Sabha elections eventful; Congress’s Maken bows out in Haryana over cancelled vote

Rajya Sabha elections eventful; Congress’s Maken bows out in Haryana over cancelled vote


New Delhi: The Rajya Sabha elections on Friday remained eventful, with BJP and Congress trading allegations of horse-trading and cross-voting. Counting in Maharashtra and Haryana had to be withheld because of objections by the BJP and was resumed late in the night.

Later, Sanjay Raut (Shiv Sena), Imran Pratapgrahi (Congress) and Praful Patel (NCP) from the ruling alliance Maha Vikas Aghadi were declared winners on three seats in Maharashtra, while the remaining three went to BJP which had fielded Piyush Goyal, Anil Bonde and Dhananjay Mahadik.

In Haryana, Congress candidate Ajay Maken lost the polls after a vote was cancelled. BJP-backed media baron Kartikeya Sharma was declared winner in the fight. The second seat went to Krishan Lal Panwar of BJP.

All three candidates of Congress won the Rajya Sabha elections in Rajasthan, while the fourth went to BJP. Media baron Subhash Chandra, who was backed by BJP could not make it to the Upper House. Congress had fielded Randeep Surjewala, Pramod Tiwari and Mukul Wasnik.

In Karnataka, BJP candidates Union Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, actor Jaggesh and member of legislative council Lahar Singh Siroya won the polls, while the fourth seat went to Jairam Ramesh from Congress.

Rajya Sabha elections were held for 16 seats in four states: six in Maharashtra, four each in Rajasthan and Karnataka and two in Haryana.


BJP suspends Rajasthan MLA for cross-voting

The BJP has suspended its MLA in Rajasthan Shobharani Kushwaha for cross-voting in the Rajya Sabha elections in favour of Pramod Tiwari from Congress. She has been given a week’s time to explain why she voted against the whip.




To read the latest news in Gujarati click here