Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > Rajasthan HC to deliver order on BSP MLAs on Aug 11

Rajasthan HC to deliver order on BSP MLAs on Aug 11


Prakash Bhandari

The Rajasthan High Court, in a petition filed against the merger of BSP MLAs into Congress, said a single bench will dispose of the case on August 11. 

The High Court has also directed that notice be issued to the six MLAs by August 8. 


The district judge of Jaisalmer has been directed to ensure that notices are served to the six BSP MLAs who are currently lodged in a hotel in Jaisalmer. 

Madan Dilawar, the BJP MLA had moved a petition in the division bench of the High Court questioning the merger of six BSP MLAs with the Congress.

 The High Court ordered that notices to the BSP be published in newspapers and if they are in a Jaisalmer hotel, the city superintendent of police should ensure that the notices are served to them.

Also Read: Rajasthan HC seeks reply from Speaker on BSP MLAs merger

 The six BSP MLAs who are to be served notice are Rajendra Singh Gudha (Udaipurwati), Lakhan Singh (Karauli), Deep Chand Kheria (Kishangarhbas), Joginder Singh Awana ( Nadbai), Sandeep Kumar (Tijara)and Wazib Ali ( Nagar).

 The division bench of Chief Justice Inder Mohanty and Justice Prakash Gupta directed the single bench that is to hear the plea to dispose of the matter on August 11 itself. 

What happens if MLAs are debarred?

This will ensure that the orders to debar the six BSP MLAs, whose merger with the Congress was allowed by Speaker CP Joshi on September 19, 2019, will be issued on the same day.

The BSP has demanded that the BSP MLAs be prohibited to vote in any form in the Vidhan Sabha till the pendency of the petition.

If the court grants a stay and prohibits the six MLAs to vote in the Vidhan Sabha in a floor test, this will be a setback for the Ashok Gehlot government.

The denial of voting rights will reduce the effective strength of the Vidhan Sabha from 200 to 194. 

The Gehlot government which claims the support of 102 MLAs will lose the support of the six BSP MLAs if the High Court debars them from voting. 

This will create a new political crisis for the government.

To read the latest news in Gujarati click here

Read all Gujarat updates with Gujarat today