Gujarat Exclusive > Politics > Rajasthan: AICC revamps Pradesh Congress

Rajasthan: AICC revamps Pradesh Congress


The All India Congress Committee (AICC) has finally revamped the Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee (RPCC) and announced a new executive for the state. The announcement comes as the state is going for the second phase of the civic poll due on January 28.

The party, 175 days after the previous committee headed by Sachin Pilot was dissolved, has appointed seven vice presidents, eight general secretaries, and 24 secretaries. The Pilot faction was satisfied as organisational positions were given to its loyalists.

What was interesting was CP Joshi, the former Union minister, who is currently the Assembly Speaker, was able to get his nominees Harimohan Sharma and Ram Lal Jat appointed as vice presidents.

Gehlot, Pilot taken into confidence

AICC general secretary Ajay Maken, it seems, has spoken to both Ashok Gehlot and Pilot before finalising the list and the common list submitted by the two was accepted. Now, after the executive committee is formed, the next task for Maken will be to finalise the list of political appointments. There is pressure from the party workers for political appointments.

Ashok Gehlot expressed hope that that the new executive will succeed in taking the party’s principles and programmes to the remotest villages.

Sachin Pilot tweeted, “Hearty congratulations to all the newly appointed officials of the Pradesh Congress committee and best wishes for a bright future.”

Maken completed his first big task after taking over as the AICC general secretary in-charge for Rajasthan. He has successfully completed the mandate of Sonia Gandhi after taking both Ashok Gehlot and Sachin Pilot into confidence.

Also Read: BMC files police complaint against actor Sonu Sood

A close look at the 39-member committee clearly showed that the directions of Sonia Gandhi were followed to the hilt. The revamp was completed by giving proper representation to various sections.

Eleven Congress MLAs have been given the responsibilities and these include GR Khatana, Rakesh Pareek and Ved Prakash Solanki, who belonged to the Sachin Pilot’s faction. Two more followers of Pilot were made vice presidents and in all, out of the 39 member executive, nine of Pilot’s supporters were given positions. Thus, almost all those who supported Pilot except Vishvendra Singh and Ramesh Meena, the two former ministers, have been rewarded.

Members of the new executive committee of Rajasthan Congress

President: Govind Singh Dotasara

Vice presidents: Govindram Meghwal, Dr Jitendra Singh, Ram Lal Jat, Mahendrajit Singh Malviya, Dr Rajendra Choudhry, Harimohan Sharma, Nasim Akhtar Insaaf

General secretaries: GR Khatana, Hakim Ali, Lakhan Meena, Prashant Berwa, Rakesh Pareek, Rita Choudhry, Ved Prakash Solanki and Mangi Lal Girasiya


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here