Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > Pushkar Singh Dhami takes oath as Uttarakhand CM, PM Modi extends “best wishes” to new team

Pushkar Singh Dhami takes oath as Uttarakhand CM, PM Modi extends “best wishes” to new team


A day after being elected as the leader of the BJP legislature party, Khatima MLA Pushkar Singh Dhami on Sunday took oath as the eleventh chief minister of Uttarakhand. He is the third CM in the ongoing five-year tenure of the BJP, with the state elections due next year.

Notably, Dhami, 45, is the youngest chief minister of the state and replaced Tirath Singh Rawat. The latter had tendered his resignation on Friday within four months of taking over the charge from Trivendra Singh Rawat.

Dhami now has less than a year left for the next Assembly poll and the biggest challenge for him would to steer the BJP to victory and retain power in the state.

New ministers

During the oath-taking ceremony on Sunday, Dhan Singh Rawat, Rekha Arya and Swami Yatishwaranand were also sworn in as Cabinet ministers. At the same time, Bishan Singh Chufal, Subodh Uniyal, Arvind Pandey, Satpal Maharaj, Harak Singh Rawat, Bansidhar Bhagat, and Ganesh Joshi and two others were sworn in as ministers in the new state Cabinet.

PM Modi wishes Dhami

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Uttarakhand’s new CM Pushkar Singh Dhami and his team. He took to Twitter and said, “Congratulations to Shri @pushkardhami and all others who took oath today. Best wishes to this team as they work towards the progress and prosperity of Uttarakhand.”

Meanwhile, Dhami has thanked PM Modi, BJP national president JP Nadda and Union home minister Amit Shah for the opportunity. He said that he will render the responsibilities entrusted upon him by the party with dedication and honesty. He also said that he will try to ensure that the benefits of the Central and state government schemes reach the eligible beneficiaries in the state.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here