Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > Pinarayi Vijayan sworn in as Kerala CM second time in a row

Pinarayi Vijayan sworn in as Kerala CM second time in a row


After ensuring a historic second successive term for the Left Democratic Front (LDF) in the recently-concluded state assembly polls, Pinarayi Vijayan on Thursday was sworn in as the chief minister of Kerala.

He was administered the oath of office by Governor Arif Mohammad Khan in a brief ceremony due to the COVID-19 pandemic. In fact, even the brief ceremony was held only after the Kerala High Court granted permission for it.

Following the ceremony, Vijayan took to Twitter to announce the same. He said, “Took the oaths of office and secrecy as Chief Minister of Kerala. Together let us realise a people’s alternative and build a Nava Keralam!”

CM Vijayan will head an all-new 20-member cabinet, including 12 from the CPM and four from the CPI, with no carry-over apart from himself. The new team has three women—Dr. R Bindu, Chinchu Rani and Veena George—one more than last time and a record number for any Kerala government.

CPI’s Veena George will be the first woman journalist-politician to be a Kerala minister. She is expected to get the health portfolio held by KK Shailaja. Dr Bindhu, the former Thrissur Mayor, is also CPM state secretary K Vijayraghavan’s wife and is expected to get higher education.

Also Read: Former Rajasthan CM Jagannath Pahadia succumbs to COVID-19

CPM leader PA Mohammad Riyas, who is Mr Vijayan’s son-in-law, is likely to get PWD and Tourism. 75 per cent of the new cabinet are first-time ministers and 10 are first-time MLAs.

PM, CMs wish Pinarayi Vijayan

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister MK Stalin were among the many people who congratulated Vijayan for his second term as chief minister of Kerala.

PM Modi said, “Congratulations to Shri Pinarayi Vijayanji on taking oath as Chief Minister and commencing his second term in office.”

Stalin said, “Best wishes to my brother Pinarayi Vijayan on his swearing in as Chief Minister of Kerala and I hope that his determination and perseverance will lead to social equality, peace and prosperity for the people.”


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here