Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > Nobel Peace Prize 2021 goes to journalists Maria Ressa, Dmitry Muratov

Nobel Peace Prize 2021 goes to journalists Maria Ressa, Dmitry Muratov

  • Ressa is from Philippines while Maruatov is from Russia; they were awarded Nobel Peace Prize for their courageous fight for freedom of expression


The Nobel Peace Prize for the year 2021 has been awarded to journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov for “their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression.

“The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize to Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace,” the Nobel Prize committee said in a tweet.

“Free, independent and fact-based journalism serves to protect against abuse of power, lies and war propaganda. The Norwegian Nobel Committee is convinced that freedom of expression and freedom of information help to ensure an informed public,” it said in another tweet.

The committee added that these rights are crucial prerequisites for democracy and protect against war and conflict. It pointed out that the 2021 award to the journalists was intended to underscore the importance of protecting and defending these fundamental rights.

Muratov has for decades defended freedom of speech in Russia under increasingly challenging conditions. In 1993, he was one of the founders of the independent newspaper Novaja Gaseta, the committee said on Twitter. It added that despite killings and threats, Muratov refused to abandon the newspaper’s independent policy and consistently defended the rights of journalists.

“Maria Ressa uses freedom of expression to expose abuse of power, use of violence and growing authoritarianism in her native country, the Philippines. In 2012, she co-founded Rappler, a digital media company for investigative journalism,” the Nobel committee said.




To read the latest news in Gujarati click here