Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > No stay on Bhabanipur by-polls, says Calcutta HC

No stay on Bhabanipur by-polls, says Calcutta HC


Kolkata: The Bhabanipur by-election in West Bengal will be held as per schedule on September 30. The Calcutta High Court has refused to stay the by-elections which will see BJP’s Priyanka Tibrewal taking on WB Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.

The HC’s order was in response to a PIL challenging the decision of the Election Commission to hold the by-elections on September 30.

Bypolls to the Bhabanipur Assembly seat were necessitated after the resignation by sitting MLA Shobhandeb Chattopadhaya

Chattopadhyay resigned to make way for Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee who needs to win the by-elections to hold her post.

Mamata, who had won from Bhabanipur in 2011 and 2016, had fought from Nandigram this year. But, she was defeated by BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari.

Since TMC had won the WB Assembly elections, it returned to power and Mamata became the CM again. However, as per rules, she must win an election within six months to remain in the Cabinet.

So, Shobhandeb Chattopadhyay, who was the sitting MLA from Bhabanipur, left the seat to allow Mamata to contest the by-elections.

The BJP fielded Tibrewal, a lawyer who is relatively new in politics, against Mamata. The Congress did not field its candidate on the seat. CPI(M)’s Srijib Biswas, too, is in the fray.

While the voting will take place on September 30, the counting will take place on October 3.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here