Gujarat Exclusive > Politics > RJD to boycott Nitish Kumar’s oath-taking ceremony

RJD to boycott Nitish Kumar’s oath-taking ceremony


Tejashwi Yadav-led RJD will be boycotting the oath-taking ceremony of Nitish Kumar which is scheduled at around 4.30 pm on Monday. RJD has said that it has decided to boycott the oath-taking ceremony as the mandate is against the NDA.

RJD, on Monday, took to Twitter to announce its decision. It said: “The RJD boycotts swearing-in ceremony. The mandate for change is against the NDA. The mandate was replaced with ‘Government Order’. Ask the unemployed, farmers, contract workers and teachers of Bihar what is going on with them. The public is agitated by the fraud of the NDA. We are the people’s representative and stand with the public.”

Nitish Kumar to become Bihar CM fourth time in a row

Nitish Kumar will be taking oath for a fourth straight term as Bihar Chief Minister on Monday evening and 14 other ministers will be sworn in with him. His new deputies—BJP’s Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi—will be among those taking oath on Monday. The event will be attended by Union home minister Amit Shah.

Vijendra Yadav, Vijay Choudhary, Ashok Choudhary, Mewalal Choudhary, and Sheela Mandal from Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal United and BJP leaders Mangal Pandey and Rampreet Paswan are among the 14 ministers being inducted in Nitish Kumar’s new cabinet on Monday.

Also Read: Kapil Sibal criticises Congress leadership, again

Santosh Manjhi of the Hindustani Awam Morcha or the HAM, and Mukesh Mallah of the Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) will also be sworn in.

BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi, the deputy chief minister to Nitish Kumar for much of his 15-year rule, has been replaced. He is likely to be sent to the Centre as a Union Minister.

Nitish Kumar to lead NDA despite poor performance of JD(U)

Despite BJP emerging as the largest party in the ruling alliance in Bihar with 74 seats, the top leadership including Prime Minister Narendra Modi has endorsed Nitish Kumar as the next chief minister of the state.

Notably, the JD(U) has lost a considerable amount of vote share and just managed to win 43 seats in the Bihar elections. Kumar, however, was declared the ruling coalition’s chief ministerial candidate much before the election process had started.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here