Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > NDA set to return in Bihar with BJP as the single largest party, finds opinion polls

NDA set to return in Bihar with BJP as the single largest party, finds opinion polls


The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) will return to power in Bihar, says an opinion poll conducted by ABP-CVoter ahead of the assembly elections in the state.

NDA’s main challenger is the mahagathbandhan made up of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Congress and several other parties.

The opinion poll of ABP-CVoter says that the NDA is likely to get 135-159 seats in the 243-member assembly, while the Grand Alliance may get 77 to 98 seats.

The Chirag Paswan-led Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) which claims to be with the BJP but is against its partner Janata Dal (United) will get just one to five seats.

The poll predicts NDA getting 43% of vote share, the Mahagathbandhan 35% votes and the LJP 4% votes. The other parties account for 18% of seats.

The BJP is projected to get 73 to 81 seats making it the single largest party while the Nitish Kumar led JD(U) is likely to get 59 to 67 seats, the poll predicts.

The Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) can get three to seven seats and Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) anywhere between zero to four seats.

Also Read: Asian Games Champion Sarita Gayakwad appointed as DySP

RJD is likely to corner 56-64 seats while Congress can get 12 to 20 seats. The Left can get 9 to 14 seats, the poll says.

Bihar polls: CM choice

In the opinion polls, Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar was the first choice as chief minister for 30% of those polled. Kumar has been at the helm for 15 years now.

20% of people want to see Tejashwi Yadav on the top post while 14% are backing Chirag Paswan. Interestingly only 10% want Sushil Modi, who is the deputy chief minister, to become CM.

On their complaints against the chief minister, 60% said they are angry with Nitish Kumar and want a new person for the post while 26% wanted to give him another chance despite being annoyed with him.

14% of people said they are neither angry nor do they want to see Nitish Kumar gone. Bihar assembly elections will be held in three phases.

Voting will be held in 71 assembly constituencies in the first phase on October 28, 94 seats in the second phase on November 3 and 78 assembly seats on November 7. Counting will be held on November 10.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here