Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > Mamata Banerjee takes oath as Bengal CM third time in a row

Mamata Banerjee takes oath as Bengal CM third time in a row


Following a thumping victory of the Trinamool Congress, the party supremo Mamata Banerjee on Wednesday took oath as the chief minister of West Bengal third time in a row. As of now, she is the only woman chief minister in India.

The small ceremony due to the COVID-19 pandemic took place at the Throne Room in Raj Bhavan and she was administered the oath of office by Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar. After taking charge, she went to her office in Nabanna, where she will be given a guard of honour by the Kolkata Police.

Mamata Banerjee to meet officials on COVID-19 situation

She is likely to begin her tenure with a meeting with top bureaucrats to take stock of the aggravating COVID-19 and law and order situation in the state. Since the election results were declared on Sunday, there have been multiple incidents of post-poll political violence in the state resulting in deaths and injuries.

Post-poll violence in Bengal

In fact, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday dialled Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar and expressed anguish over the deteriorating law and order situation in the state. The Union home ministry has also sought a report from the state government over the attacks on members of opposition parties.

Dhankhar, too, has been vocal about the post-poll violence. During the oath-taking ceremony, Dhankhar said, “I have every hope that the Chief Minister on an urgent basis will take all the steps to restore the rule of law. I have every hope that the Chief Minister, my younger sister, will rise to the occasion.”

The governor added, “You have to rise above partisan interests. I am sure you will script a new governance pattern.”

BJP’s embarrassing defeat

Despite the mega rallies of PM Modi, Union home minister Amit Shah and BJP national president JP Nadda, the saffron party had to face a humiliating defeat in the Bengal Assembly election. While the Trinamool secured 213 seats of the 292 seats where elections were held, the BJP was decimated to just 77 seats.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here