Gujarat Exclusive > Politics > Mamata Banerjee to contest poll from Nandigram against BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari

Mamata Banerjee to contest poll from Nandigram against BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari


In what could be one of the most high voltage political battles, Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee will be contesting the Assembly election from Nandigram and vacate her Bhowanipore seat.

In Nandigram, she will be fighting against TMC turncoat Suvendu Adhikari, who has joined the BJP and repeatedly attacked her and her nephew Abhishek Banerjee.

Notably, TMC on Friday announced 291 names for the Assembly polls in Bengal which is due to start from March 27.

What Mamata Banerjee said

Mamata Banerjee said, “I will contest from Nandigram as I stick to my words. From Bhowanipore constituency, Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay will be contesting in the upcoming Assembly elections.”

She remarked that it will be a smiley election, indicating that she will easily win the election.

“This is a very crucial election. Only TMC can maintain peace, prosperity, and communal harmony in Bengal. Our government will continue with all its pro-people policies and schemes, including free healthcare and insurance, free ration and those aimed at girls, women and the elderly,” she said.

Also Read: Gujarat leg of bullet train project to start first if Maharashtra delays land acquisition

“We expect an impartial, free and fair election,” she said.

Mamata Banerjee said, “I am grateful to Sharad Pawar, Hemant Soren, Tejaswi Yadav, Akhilesh Yadav and Arvind Kejriwal for the support and solidarity they have conveyed to me.”

Parties led by these leaders have decided not to field candidates in Bengal elections and have supported the TMC. Shiv Sena, too, has decided to support the TMC in this election.

TMC drops many MLAs, ministers

In the list of 291 candidates, Trinamool Congress has dropped over 20 sitting MLAs and top ministers, including Partha Chattopadhyay and Amit Mitra. Many others aged above 80 years have also been dropped from the TMC list.

Former Kolkata Mayor Sovan Chatterjee’s estranged wife Ratna Chatterjee has been fielded from Behala Purba, which is his seat. Sovan Chatterjee also joined the BJP after a series of scandals surrounding his personal life.

Mamata Banerjee said that TMC has left out three seats of the total 294 for allies and friends to contest from North Bengal and other regions.

Announcing the list, Mamata Banerjee said there are 50 female candidates, 42 Muslim candidates, 79 Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates and 17 Scheduled Tribe (ST) candidates.

Among star candidates, the Bengal CM said cricketer Manoj Tewari will contest from the prestigious Singur constituency in Hooghly district, singer Aditi Munshi from Rajarhat, filmmaker Raj Chakraborty from Barrackpore and tribal actor Birbaha Hansda from Jhargram.

The candidate list has many new faces, including politicians and renowned people from other walks of life.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here