Gujarat Exclusive > Politics > Mamata Banerjee to contest bypoll from Bhowanipore

Mamata Banerjee to contest bypoll from Bhowanipore


West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is all set to contest the Assembly bypoll from Bhowanipore—a seat that she sacrificed to contest against TMC turncoat Suvendu Adhikari from Nandigram which eventually resulted in her defeat.

Trinamool Congress (TMC) MLA Shobhandeb Chatterjee, who won the poll from Bhowanipore, has resigned from the Assembly to make way for Mamata to get elected. Chatterjee tendered his resignation to Speaker Biman Bandopadhyay. He will continue as agriculture minister for six months, during which time he will contest from another seat to return to the Assembly.

As Mamata Banerjee has lost the election to Suvendu Adhikari by a narrow margin, she will have to get elected to the Assembly within six months to continue in her position. Bhowanipore has traditionally been a TMC bastion and getting elected from there will be the easiest option for Mamata Banerjee.

TMC’s thumping victory

In one of the most violent state elections, TMC registered a thumping victory despite the anti-incumbency factor and the BJP leaving no stone unturned to oust Mamata from power.

Also Read: 7 complaints registered against AAP leader Gopal Italia for calling BJP state chief CR Patil a bootlegger

The BJP held mega rallies of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union home minister Amit Shah and several other top BJP leaders. However, it failed to woo the Bengali voter. While ‘confident’ BJP leaders were claiming that the party is going to win 200 seats in the Assembly polls, the final tally was not even near it.

Out of the 292 seats where elections were held, BJP won just 77 seats. Trinamool Congress, on the other hand, secured 213 seats. However, Mamata’s defeat in Nandigram was a dampener for the TMC. It was also the first election when the Left and the Congress failed to win even a single seat in the Bengal Assembly.

Meanwhile, the tally of BJP in Bengal further declined as two parliamentarians who contested and won the Assembly poll in the state have already tendered their resignation from the Assembly.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here