Gujarat Exclusive > Politics > Uddhav Thackeray-led Maha Vikas Agadi wins trust vote in Maharashtra assembly

Uddhav Thackeray-led Maha Vikas Agadi wins trust vote in Maharashtra assembly


Maharastra: As many as 169 MLAs of Maha Vikas Agadi today voted in favour of motion of confidence, while zero against, four abstained and 105 BJP MLAs walked out during voting. BJP leader and former CM Devendra Fadnavis today said that they will submit a letter to Governor Bhagat Singh Koshiyari asking him to suspend the proceedings of the House.

Pro tem speaker Dilip Walse Patil rejected Fadnavis’ claim of an ‘illegal session’, saying its is being held as per governor’s directions. The Uddhav Thackeray-led government, meanwhile, has cleared the face floor test, despite four MLAs abstaining and BJP legislators walking out of the House.

Pro tem Speaker Dilip Walse Patil informed the House that nobody voted against the motion as all the 105 MLAs had walked out of the 288-member House before the head count of legislators began. Four MLAs abstained from voting, he added.

Patil was appointed pro-tem Speaker to conduct the proceedings of the special two-day session which commences today. On Sunday, the Assembly Speaker’s election will be held, followed by the tabling of motion of thanks on the Governor’s address in the House. The new Speaker will then announce the name of the Leader of Opposition in the Assembly, Devendra Fadnavis.

Uddhav Thackeray said after winning the floor test in Maha Assembly said that, “Yes I took oath in name of Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj and also in name of my parents. If this is an offence then I will do it again.”

Gujarat: “Beti Bachao, Beti Padhao” but Beti Promotion? Only 1 female officer against every 4 male IAS