Gujarat Exclusive > Politics > Maharashtra Cabinet Expansion: Ajit Pawar is Deputy CM, Aaditya Thackeray takes Oath as Minister

Maharashtra Cabinet Expansion: Ajit Pawar is Deputy CM, Aaditya Thackeray takes Oath as Minister


Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray has extended his first cabinet of his government. About a month after the formation of government, many legislators of Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress took oath of office in the first cabinet expansion of Thackeray government. Aaditya Thackeray, newly elected MLA was inducted as minister in his father’s cabinet on Monday as a part of the long overdue cabinet expansion, while senior NCP leader Ajit Pawar was sworn in as deputy chief minister of the state.

Former Chief minister Ashok Chavan, NCP leaders Dilip Walse Patil and Dhananjay Munde and Congress’ Vijay Wadettiwar also took oath on Monday. Other big names include Anil Parab, Jitendra Awhad, Anil Deshmukh, Amit Vilasrao Deshmukh, Rajesh Tope, and MoS Satej Patil, Vishwajeet Kadam and Bachu Kadu.

Besides, there are other Cabinet ministers such as Sanjay Rathod, Gulabrao Patil, Dada Bhuse, Sandipan Bhumre and Uday Samant (all Shiv Sena), NCP’s Rajendra Shingane, Balasaheb Patil (both NCP), Sunik Kedar, K.C. Padvi (both Congress) and Shankarrao Gadakh (Krantikari Shetkari Party), MVA ally. The other new MoS rank inductees are Shambhuraj Desai, Dattatrau Bharne, Sanjay Bansode, Prajakt Tanpure and Rajendra Patil-Yadravkar, an independent who extended support to the MVA.

Shiv Sena MLAs will become ministers
Anil Parab – Cabinet Minister
Uday Samant – Cabinet Minister
Gulabrao Patil – Cabinet Minister
Shambhuraj Desai
Dadaji Bhuse – Cabinet Minister
Sanjay Rathod
Abdul Sattar
Rajendra Patil Yadavkar
Shankarrao Gadakh
Sandipanrao Bhumre – Cabinet Minister
Aditya Thackeray – Cabinet Minister

NCP MLAs got ministership
Ajit Pawar – Deputy CM
Dhananjay Munde – Cabinet Minister
Dilip Walse Patil – Cabinet Minister
Nawab Malik
Jitendra Awhad – Cabinet Minister
Hasan Mushrif – Cabinet Minister
Balasaheb Patil – Cabinet Minister
Anil Deshmukh – Cabinet Minister
Aditi Shukre
Rajendra Shingne – Cabinet Minister

Congress MLAs got ministership
Ashok Chavan – Cabinet Minister
KC Padvi – Cabinet Minister
Vijay Wadettiwar – Cabinet Minister
Amit Vilasrao Deshmukh – Cabinet Minister
Sunil Chhatrapal Kedar – Cabinet Minister
Yashomati Thakur – Cabinet Minister
Varsha Eknath Gaikwad – Cabinet Minister
Aslam Shaikh – Cabinet Minister
Satej Alias Bunty Patil – Minister of State
Dr. Vishwajeet Patangrao Kadam- Minister of State

In Maharashtra Assembly elections, BJP has got 105 seats, Shiv Sena 56, NCP 54 and Congress 44 seats. The BJP and Shiv Sena together crossed the 145 mark of majority. But Shiv Sena put a demand for 50-50 formula according to which the model of running the government was two and a half years. Shiv Sena says that the agreement with BJP was done on this formula, but BJP claims that no such agreement was reached. This led to differences so much that the two-year-old friendship of the two parties was broken. After this, Shiv Sena formed government with NCP and Congress after major dramatic events.