Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > Local Body Polls: Several BJP candidates elected unopposed

Local Body Polls: Several BJP candidates elected unopposed


With the nomination process for the local body polls scheduled later this month coming to an end on Saturday, several BJP candidates across the state emerged victorious even before a single vote was cast.

Notably, Gujarat BJP president CR Patil on Sunday tweeted a list of party candidates who have won the election unopposed and congratulated them.

Victory of BJP candidates

BJP candidates have won two seats in zilla panchayat, 17 seats in taluka panchayat and seven seats in municipalities. As far as zilla panchayat elections are concerned, BJP candidates won unopposed in Bilkha Panchayat of Junagadh district and Kondh seat in Surendranagar district. BJP’s Anal Bhojak has been elected unopposed from Bilkha seat, whereas Umaba Jhala secured the Kondh.

Similarly, the candidates fielded by the saffron party secured two seats in Bhuj municipality and five seats in Dhrangadhra municipality.

As far as taluka panchayats are concerned, BJP candidates have been elected unopposed in Surat in on seat each in Olpad and Choriasi taluka panchayats. The saffron party also secured two seats in Daskaroi panchayat in Ahmedabad.

Similarly, Bilkha seat of Junagadh taluka panchayat and 2 seats of Umarla taluka panchayat of Bhavnagar have also secured by BJP candidates. Also, BJP candidates have been elected unopposed from 9 seats of four taluka panchayats of Surendranagar district.

Local body elections in Gujarat

The local body elections in Gujarat will be held in two phases. In the first phase on February 21, elections will be held for municipal corporations. The results for the elections will be declared on February 23.

In the second phase on February 28, elections will be organised for municipalities, district panchayats, and taluka panchayats. The results for the second phase will be declared on March 2.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here