Gujarat Exclusive > youth > IPL 2021: Confident KKR to take on MI today

IPL 2021: Confident KKR to take on MI today


After registering a victory in its first match of IPL 2021 against Sunrisers Hyderabad, Eoin Morgan’s Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is all set to take on Rohit Sharma’s Mumbai Indians (MI) at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Tuesday.

Notably, Mumbai Indians had lost its first match against Virat Kohli’s Royal Challengers Bangalore and will be on the lookout to register their first win of the season. On the contrary, two-time champions KKR will try to consolidate its dominance in the tournament by defeating MI—one of the strongest teams with a commendable batting lineup.

KKRs poor record against MI

KKR would look to come out all guns blazing against the five-time champions on Tuesday. They have won just once in their last 12 games against MI, and have an overall lopsided 6-21 head-to-head record.

But eventually, it will all boil down to the battle of wits between Morgan and Rohit Sharma, under whose captaincy MI has won a record fifth IPL title last season in UAE.

Also Read: Russian COVID-19 vaccine ‘Sputnik V’ approved by Indian regulator for emergency use

As far as the points table is concerned, KKR is currently occupying the second spot in the eight-team tournament, whereas Mumbai Indians is occupying the fifth spot.

KKR squad

Eoin Morgan (C), Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik (W), Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kuldeep Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Nitish Rana, Pat Cummins, Prasidh Krishna, Rahul Tripathi, Sandeep Warrier,  Shivam Mavi, Shubman Gill, Sunil Narine, Tim Seifert, Varun Chakaravarthy, Shakib Al Hasan, Sheldon Jackson, Vaibhav Arora, Karun Nair, Harbhajan Singh, Ben Cutting, Venkatesh Iyer, Pawan Negi and Gurkeerat Mann Singh.

MI squad

Rohit Sharma (C), Aditya Tare, Anukul Roy, Anmolpreet Singh, Chris Lynn, Dhawal Kulkarni, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Jasprit Bumrah, Jayant Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Mohsin Khan, Quinton de Kock (W), Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Tiwary, Suryakumar Yadav, Trent Boult, Adam Milne, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Piyush Chawla, Jimmy Neesham, Yudhvir Charak, Marco Jansen and Arjun Tendulkar.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here