Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > BJP selects Himanta Biswa Sarma as next Assam CM, Sonowal tenders resignation

BJP selects Himanta Biswa Sarma as next Assam CM, Sonowal tenders resignation


Assam health minister Himanta Biswa Sarma is all set to become the next chief minister of the state after he was unanimously elected as the leader of the BJP Legislature Party.

The development comes after the BJP registered a thumping victory in the state while losing the battle to TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee in neighbouring West Bengal.

Himanta Biswa Sarma was a key strategist

While the BJP had in 2016 gone for the state poll with its state president Sarbananda Sonowal as the CM candidate, this time it had said that the CM candidate will be decided after the election. Notably, Sarma acted as a key strategist for the saffron party and helped it win elections in the state after he defected from the Congress while he was a minister in the state Cabinet.

Sarbananda Sonowal and Himanta Biswa Sarma were on Friday called to New Delhi by the BJP central leadership apparently to discuss the leadership issue of the next government.

Also Read: Over 4.03 lakh COVID cases, 4,092 deaths in India in a day

Sarbananda Sonowal and Himanta Biswa Sarma met party president JP Nadda and Union home minister Amit Shah in Delhi on Saturday. Talks related to the formation of the next government in Assam and who will be the chief minister dominated the meetings

Sarma more popular

Sarbananda Sonowal, who belongs to Assam’s indigenous Sonowal-Kachari tribals, and Himanta Sarma, an Assamese Brahmin who is the convenor of the North East Democratic Alliance, were contenders for the top post of the Assam government. Political experts said one of the reasons behind choosing Sarma was his growing popularity in the state that dwarfed the popularity of Sonowal.

Sonowal tenders resignation

Sonowal had tendered his resignation to Governor Jagadish Mukhi at the Raj Bhavan on Sunday morning. As is the tradition, the governor asked Sonowal to continue in office till the formation of the new government.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here