Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > Over 10 IITGN students bag prestigious awards, fellowships

Over 10 IITGN students bag prestigious awards, fellowships


Thirteen Ph.D. scholars and recent alumni of the Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar (IITGN) have won several prestigious awards and fellowships in the last two months. 

Rajesh Hadiya, a Ph.D. scholar from biological engineering was selected for the prestigious SERB-CII Prime Minister’s Fellowship for his doctoral research. 

The highly competitive scholarship from the Science & Engineering Research Board (SERB), Department of Science and Technology encourages scholars to take up industry-relevant research.

Six Ph.D. scholars – Prasanna Kulkarni and Yogesh Singh from mechanical engineering; Ashish Tiwari, Sachinkumar Suthar, and Kailash Prasad from electrical engineering; and Rajes Ghosh from physics have bagged the prestigious Prime Minister Research Fellowship (May 2020 cycle). 

Two other Ph.D. students, Chandan Kumar Jha from electrical engineering, and Nakshi Desai from biological engineering won the Student Startup Grant Challenge from the Centre for Innovation Incubation & Entrepreneurship (CIIE) at IIM Ahmedabad. 

Chandan received the grant for his work on developing a virtual reality-based hand rehabilitation and assessment platform for stroke survivors. Nakshi bagged the grant for her idea on disease diagnostics/testing, specifically for prostate cancer. 

Also Read: More names emerge in input tax credit scam under probe by DGGI

Two other Ph.D. students, Jaydeepsingh Chavda from chemistry and Shanti Shwarup Mahto from the earth sciences discipline were selected for the DST-INSPIRE Fellowship. 

Other awards for IITGN students

Earlier, two recent alumni of IITGN won prestigious awards in their respective fields. Dr. Ankita Arora from materials science and engineering received Prof Sabu Thomas Best Doctoral Thesis Award 2020 in the category of Polymer Sciences & Engineering. 

Ankita’s Ph.D. work focused on designing new antibacterial peptides and polymers that target the outer layer of bacteria cells and can be potentially used to treat multidrug-resistant bacteria. 

Dr. Deepa Dixit from chemical engineering won the SITARE – Gandhian Young Technological Innovation (GYTI) Award 2020 for the development of non-electric and affordable surface engineered particle-based point-of-use water disinfection. 

Pradip Prajapati, a BTech student of Electrical Engineering at IITGN has been selected as a Cargill Global Scholar for this year. 


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here