Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar CM for his fourth term

Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar CM for his fourth term


JD (U) leader Nitish Kumar on Monday took oath as the chief minister of Bihar for the fourth consecutive term.

Union home minister Amit Shah and BJP chief JP Nadda attended the swearing-in ceremony. Deputy Chief Ministers, Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi, also took charge of their respective posts.

Santosh Kumar Suman, son of Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) chief Jitan Ram Manjhi, Mukesh Sahni of Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP), JD(U)’s Vijay Kumar Choudhary, Vijendra Prasad Yadav, Ashok Choudhary and Mewa Lal Choudhary were also sworn in.

Who all will get a place in Nitish Kumar’s new cabinet

Sushil Kumar Modi, who was the deputy chief minister, was not among those who were sworn in. The buzz is that he was not given a place in the new cabinet as he might get a place in the Central cabinet.

Also Read: PVS Sharma, Surat city BJP vice-president & former I-T officer, attempts suicide

Shreyasi Singh, a national-level shooting champion, who has won from Jamui seat is likely to get a ministerial berth as well.

Sight is the youngest daughter of late JD (U) leader Digvijay Singh.

RJD boycotted Nitish’s swearing-in

RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav did not attend the oath-taking ceremony as his party said the election has been rigged. The mandate was ‘against the NDA’, but has later been changed by a ‘fraud’. 

The swearing-in ceremony was a small affair given the COVID-19 pandemic. During his previous terms, Kumar had taken oath amid large gatherings of dignitaries and common people at Gandhi Maidan.

As per the pre-election seat-sharing agreement, the JD (U), which has 43 MLAs, will get a maximum of 14 ministerial berths. BJP which has 74 seats will get 20 posts. Both HAM (S) and VIP will get one ministerial berth each.

The NDA won 125 seats in the 243-seat strong Bihar Legislative Assembly. The RJD emerged as the single-largest party with 75 seats while the Congress only won 19 of the 70 seats it had contested on.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here