Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > In a first, India wins Test at Gabba ending Aus’ 32 year record

In a first, India wins Test at Gabba ending Aus’ 32 year record


India won the 4the Test against Australia at Gabba to pocket the series in a 2-1 victory and ending the host’s victory run and record at Gabba.

This is India’s second consecutive victory on Australian soil and with this, they retain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.
Indian batsman Shubham Gills’ 91 helped them chase the target of 328 on the final day of the match.

A 61-run partnership between Cheteshwar Pujara and Rishabh Pant also helped. After Pujara was dismissed by Pat Cummins for 56, Pant partnered with Washington Sundar to give India a chance at victory even as wickets fell.

Washington shared a crucial 53-run stand to take India close to victory. He had earlier scored a half-century in the first innings in his debut Test.

Pants scored the winning runs and remained unbeaten at 89 off 138 deliveries as India won with 3-wickets in hand.

The Gabba test record

This is the first time that Australia has been beaten in 32 years at Gabba. Australia was last defeated at Gabba by West Indies in 1988. Since then, Australia has played 31 matches at the venue and won 24, and has drawn 7.

Also Read: Talks between protesting farmers and Centre postponed by a day

India has played seven Tests at the venue, 7 losing five, drawing one. The latest is the first victory for the country at the venue. India did not play at the venue during their last trip in 2018-19 when they won the Test series.

The victory comes after India were bundled out for their lowest Test score of 36/9 in the second innings of the first Test match in Adelaide. Australia won the first test.

Later captain Virat Kohli returned home on paternity leave and paceman Mohammed Shami bowed out due to injury. Captain Ajinkya Rahane along with Jasprit Bumrah and Ravichandran Ashwin helped India level the series by winning the second Test.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here