Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > Gujarat bypolls: Limdi, Abdasa, Karjan give BJP substantial victory lead

Gujarat bypolls: Limdi, Abdasa, Karjan give BJP substantial victory lead


Limdi that saw bypolls gave a decisive victory to the BJP on Tuesday. BJP’s candidate Kiritsinh Rana won the seat with 31,539 votes. This is the third time that Kiritsinh Rana has won the seat in a bypoll. He had earlier won the seat in 1995 and 2013.

Kirtisinh Rana’s political experience helped the BJP win the seat that has a dominance of Koli voters. The seat from which Congress’ Somabhai Patel had resigned saw the party dilly-dallying till the last moment in announcing a candidate. 

Congress also seemed to lack a clear plan of action for the seat. In all, 14 candidates had contested from the seat including 11 independents. 

This seat had the highest number of contestants among all the seats that went to bypolls in Gujarat. The seat has been alternatively won by the Congress and the BJP in the last 18 years every time an election was held. 

Congress has won the seat eight times while BJP has won it six times. Kiritisinh Rana has won the seat four times and lost it thrice.

Karjan gives BJP over 76k votes

Karjan bypolls

BJP’s Akshay Patel won the Karjan seat with over 16000 votes. He polled more than 76,000 votes against Congress’ Kiritsinh Jadeja who got over 60,000 votes. By the 15th round of counting, the lead for BJP candidate fell by 5,861 votes but it picked up to a lead of over 10,000 votes by the time the 29th round of counting was on. 

Also Read: Gujarat bypolls: Dhari, Dangs, Gadhada all choose BJP

The seat in all had nine candidates in the fray, of which five of them were independents. Later talking to the media, Akshay Patel said that the BJP’s victory was a result of the government’s pro-people policy. 

Congress candidate Kirtisinh Jadeja said that their workers were threatened and that the government was making use of the state administration. He also alleged that the voters were lured with bribes.

BJP’s Pradyumansinh Jadeja only turncoat MLA to win Abdasa

abdasa bypoll

Congress turncoat MLA Pradyumansinh Jadeja who contested as a BJP candidate from the Abdasa seat has won with a handsome majority. This is the first time that a candidate has won the seat twice. Pradyumansinj Jadeja had a lead of over 36,000 votes.

The Congress has won the seat seven times while the BJP has won it four times. This is the first time that a candidate who dumped the Congress and went to the BJP won the seat. So far every turncoat MLA from the seat who joined the BJP and contested the same has failed to win it.

Abdasa has domination of Muslims and leaders from the community and sought a ticket but the Congress had not given it to them. 

Also read: After initial scare, BJP’s Brijesh Merja wins Morbi seat

Pradyumansinh Jadeja polled 71,060 votes while Shanitlal Sanghani of the Congress had 34,648 votes. Independent candidate Hanif Jakaba had 26,361 votes.

This is the fourth time in a decade that the seat is witnessing an election. In 2012 Congress’ Chhabil Patel won the seat and later resigned and joined the BJP. Within two years a bypoll was held which was won by Shaktisin Gohil of the Congress. In the 2017 Assembly polls, Congress’ Pradyumansinh Jadeja won the seat but he too resigned and joined the BJP, necessitating the bypolls.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here