Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > BREAKING: Here’s Gujarat’s big decision on curfew in the state

BREAKING: Here’s Gujarat’s big decision on curfew in the state


The Gujarat government has announced an extension of the curfew to 36 towns and cities of Gujarat. The curfew will be valid from 8 pm to 6 am. The government had initially put the eight municipal corporations under curfew and later extended it to 29 towns and cities. But now it has been extended to cover Deesa, Ankleshwar, Vapi, Modasa, Radhanpur, Kadi, and Visnagar among others. Thus, all 36 towns and cities will now be under curfew in the state.

The curfew will apply from May 6 to May 12. A core committee meeting chaired by Gujarat chief minister Vijay Rupani took the decision. The committee decided that all activities and services associated with COVID 19 like hospitals, pharmacies, oxygen supply plants, and such will continue to function.

Essential services like milk parlours, groceries, fruits and vegetables, and such will also continue to function. Restaurants and hotels can offer takeaway facilities. All offices including government and private will continue to function with just 50% staff strength.

Also Read: Gujarat sees 13,050 new COVID infections, 131 fatalities

Mask and social distancing will be mandatory for employees. Media houses, petrol pumps, and other services will also continue to function.

Educational institutions will remain closed except for online education. Theatres, cinema halls, gyms, beauty parlours, swimming pools, and gardens will also remain closed.

APMCS will only offer fruit and vegetable trading and nothing else. All political, religious and social public functions are banned.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here