Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > Campaigning for district/nagarpalika polls in Gujarat ends today

Campaigning for district/nagarpalika polls in Gujarat ends today


Political parties are doing everything within their power to make the last day of campaigning for the district and taluka panchayat polls in the state as effective as possible.

Elections to 31 district panchayats, 231 taluka panchayats, and 81 nagarpalikas will be held on February 28.

At the end of 6 pm today, political parties will not be allowed to hold public rallies and meetings although they can continue with the door-to-door campaign.

In all 8,302 seats in the nagarpalika and panchayats will go to polls of which 240 have already been won uncontested. In all, there are 22,170 candidates and 2.9 crore voters are eligible to vote.

Also Read: Arvind Kejriwal asks AAP’s Surat corporators to respect people & work for them

Security has been upped to ensure that the election is peaceful.

Municipal corporation polls result

The BJP oemerged victorious in all the six municipal corporations that went to polls in Gujarat. Elections were held for the municipal corporations of Ahmedabad, Surat, Vadodara, Rajkot, Jamnagar, and Bhavnagar on February 21. In Ahmedabad, BJP won a seat in Naranpura ward uncontested.

BJP won 483 of the 575 seats, while Congress won 55, AAP 27, AIMIM 7, BSP 3, and one seat went to an independent. The AAP and the All-India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul-Muslimeen (AIMIM) were contesting for the first time in Gujarat and the former won 27 seats in Surat while the latter won seven in Ahmedabad.

The AAP has emerged as the main opposition in the Surat Municipal Corporation.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here