Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > After initial scare, BJP’s Brijesh Merja wins Morbi seat

After initial scare, BJP’s Brijesh Merja wins Morbi seat


BJP’s Brijesh Merja has won the Morbi seat after several close calls. Merja polled 4,949 more votes than his nearest rival, Congress candidate Jayanti Patel.

Brijesh Merja in all got 64,711 votes against Jayanti Patel’s 60,062 during the bypolls. Independent candidate Vasantlal Parmar polled 6,649 votes while NOTA got 2,866 votes.

Brijesh Merja was originally chosen from the seat from the Congress but he resigned during the Rajya Sabha polls and later joined the BJP which announced him as their candidate for the bypolls.

The victory came after several close calls for Brijesh Merja. Initially, Congress candidate Jayantil Patel had a slim lead but later gained momentum albeit with slightly high numbers.

BJP had given the responsibility of the seat to Saurabh Patel. The seat has seen polls 13 times between 1962 to 2017. Of the 13 times, the seat has gone to polls, BJP has won it seven times while Congress has won it five times.

Also Read: Congress manages to win mayoral election in Om Birla’s bastion

In the year 1967 Swatantra Party’s VV Mehta had won the Morbi seat while in 1990 independent candidate Babubhia Patel had won the seat. The seat has domination of Patel voters.

Why Morbi bypolls had to be held?

The by-elections in Gujarat for eight seats were necessitated after eight Congress MLAs resigned from the party ahead of the Rajya Sabha polls in Gujarat.

The eight vacant assembly constituencies are Abdasa, Limdi, Karjan, Dangs, Kaprada, Morbi, Gadhda and Dhari. Initially, four MLAs of the Congress resigned in the run-up to the Rajya Sabha polls but by the time the polls were held, four more had resigned. 

This helped the three candidates of the BJP win the Rajya Sabha polls while only one of the Congress sailing through. Originally as per the strength, Congress was poised to win two seats but the resignation of its eight MLAs spoiled Congress’ game plan.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here