Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > Bihar Exit Polls predict edge for Tejaswi & RJD alliance

Bihar Exit Polls predict edge for Tejaswi & RJD alliance


Exit polls predict trouble for Bihar’s National Democratic Alliance (NDA) headed by chief minister Nitish Kumar which could fall short of a clear majority in the assembly elections.

The Times Now C-Voter exit poll said the NDA may get just 116 seats, seven short of the majority mark of 122, in the 243-member house.

The Republic TV-Jan Ki Baat exit polls projected anything between 91 and 117 seats for the NDA while the ABP C-Voter exit poll said NDA could get between 104 and 128 seats in Bihar.

The polls predicted a better performance by Rashtriya Janata Dal’s Tejashwi Prasad Yadav, who led the opposition coalition.

The Mahagathbandhan is projected to get about 120 seats, by the Times Now C-Voter exit poll while the Republic TV-Jan Ki Baat projected 118-138 for the RJD alliance. It says the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and others may get 3 to 6.

The ABP C-Voter gives anywhere between 108-131 to the grand alliance. The LJP, according to ABP C-Voter, could win 1-3 seats.

Today’s Chanakya exit polls predict that Tejashwi Yadav-led Mahagathbandhan would be far ahead of the ruling NDA with 44% vote share.  It said the NDA votes share could be 34%.

The India Today-Axis My India exit poll also said that Tejashwi Yadav had emerged as the first choice for chief minister. 44% respondents rooted for Tejaswi Yadav while Nitish Kumar was the second choice for 35% respondents.

LJP’s Chirag Paswan was the first preference for just 7% of people. Assembly elections in Bihar began in three phases from October 28 and ended on Saturday.

Counting of votes will begin on November 10. Exit polls are taken immediately after a voter exit a polling booth.

What happened in 2015 Bihar polls

In the 2015 assembly elections, the RJD emerged as a single largest party with 80 seats, followed by the JD(U) with 71 seats and the BJP with 53 seats.

BJP had the highest vote share in that election at 24.4%, followed by RJD with 18.4% and JD (U) with 16.8% and Congress got 6.7%.

In the 2015 elections, Nitish Kumar was part of the Mahagathbandhan or Grand Alliance with RJD and the Congress. This year, the JD(U) is part of the NDA camp with the BJP.

This election, RJD contested 144 seats, Congress 70, and CPI(ML) 19.In the NDA alliance, JD(U) fought 115 seats and BJP 110. The Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), which was part of the NDA before the election contested on its own this time.

55.22% of people cast their votes till 5 pm in the third and final phase of assembly elections in Bihar on Saturday. This is lower than the 56.66% recorded in 2015.

At least 1,204 candidates are in the fray for the 78 assembly seats spread across 19 districts, in the final phase.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here