Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > AIMIM declares names of 21 candidates, including 3 ex-corporators, for AMC elections

AIMIM declares names of 21 candidates, including 3 ex-corporators, for AMC elections


Assaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM party, which is contesting civic body polls for the first time in Gujarat, on Saturday declared the name of 21 candidates from six wards of Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation.

Three of the 21 candidates are former corporators.

Former corporators Mohammed Rafik Shaikh and Mustak Khadiwala have been given tickets by the party from the Jamalpur ward, whereas Afrinbanu Pathan has been given the ticket from Gomtipur.

The party will be contesting elections from Jamalpur, Khadiya, Gomtipur, Behrampura, Dariyapur, and Maktampura ward. More names are likely to be declared by evening sources said.

Also Read: Civic body polls: Abusive messages scribbled outside Gujarat Congress office in Ahmedabad

The party has also given a ticket to advocate Imtiyaz Pathan from the Khadia ward, whereas a young social activist Sufiyan Rajput has been given a ticket from Gomtipur.

AIMIM has selected Bina Parmar and Parul Makwana as candidates from Jamalpur and Behrampura.

AIMIM chief to visit Ahmedabad

Interestingly, Assaduddin Owaisi will visit Gujarat on February 7. He is likely to conduct a public meeting with BTP chief – Chotu Vasava in Bharuch in the morning. After this, he will visit Ahmedabad in the evening and will hold a public meeting at the Riverfront Center.

The party had earlier declared ex-MLA Sabir Kabliwala as its state chief for Gujarat. Also, Aurangabad MP – Imtiyaz Jaleel and the party’s national spokesperson Waris Pathan had visited Surat and Ahmedabad on the call of Owaisi before appointing party men in Gujarat.

Both of them had received a warm welcome during their visit to Jamalpur.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here