Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > Gujarat local body bypolls: Counting of votes begins

Gujarat local body bypolls: Counting of votes begins

  • Congress candidate declared winner on one of the seats in Gandhinagar

Gandhinagar: Counting of votes for local body elections and by-elections in Gujarat, held on Sunday, began on Tuesday morning. A total of 218 seats are up for grabs in this round of elections.

Till early reports came in, Congress candidate Ankit Barot won on a seat in ward number 3, according to reports. A woman candidate from All India Majlis (AIMIM) has reportedly won on the ward number in Bharuch

All four seats of Okha municipality were won by BJP candidates. In ward number 5 by-election in Limbdi, Darshan Khandla was reportedly declared winner.

The GMC elections will be extremely important for all parties. A total of 161 candidates are in fray for 44 seats. These include 44 candidates each from BJP and Congress, 40 from AAP, 14 from Bahujan Samaj Party, 2 from Nationalist Congress Party, 6 from other parties and 11 independent candidates.

An estimated 56.24 per cent voters had voted in the elections across Gujarat on Sunday, as per the State Election Commission.



To read the latest news in Gujarati click here