Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > Govt announces Padma awards; 7 from Gujarat on the list

Govt announces Padma awards; 7 from Gujarat on the list

  • 128 Padma awards recipients nationally this year; 1 Padma Bhushan, 6 Padma Shri awardees from Gujarat

 Ahmedabad/New Delhi: The Ministry of Home Affairs released the list of Padma awardees on Tuesday. This year, a total of 128 Padma awards will be conferred, including two duo case, across three categories, viz. Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

Six personalities from Gujarat have been chosen for the award. Swami Sachidanand will receive the Padma Bhushan.

Dr Lata Desai, Maljibhai Desai, Khalil Dhantejvi (posthumous), social worker Savji Dholakia, Ramilaben Gamit and National Forensic Science University vice-chancellor Dr JM Vyas will receive the Padma Shri.

Former Ahmedabad municipal commissioner Guruprasad Mohapatra will receive the Padma Shri posthumously.

Social worker Prabha Shah from the Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli will be honoured with Padma Shri.

Late Chief of Defence Staff General Bipin Rawat who was killed in a helicopter crash last year will be awarded the Padma Vibhushan posthumously. Besides him, former Uttar Pradesh CM Kalyan Singh, too, will receive the honour posthumously.

Ghulam Nabi Azad, Satya Nadella, Sundar Pichai, Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee are on the list of Padma Bhushan awardees, while Neeraj Chopra, Avani Lekhara and Sonu Nigam are among those who will get the Padma Shri this year.





To read the latest news in Gujarati click here