Gujarat Exclusive > For new Gujarat DGP, a panel of 13 IPS officers list sent to UPSC

For new Gujarat DGP, a panel of 13 IPS officers list sent to UPSC


Anil Pushpangadhan, Gandhinagar: The Gujarat government has sent a panel of 13 IPS officers from the state to the UPSC for selection of the next DGP of Gujarat.

Present DGP Shivanand Jha who was given a three-month extension will retire in July.

Jha was to originally retire in April this year but he was given a three-month extension, ten days before his date of retirement.

At that time the state was also battling the COVID-19 situation and that could also have been the reason behind the extension.

But now, it seems no more extension will be offered and Shivanand Jha will be retiring in July. He is the only DGP after former DGP SS Khandwawala to get a three-month extension.
Khandwawala got the extension due to the Lok Sabha polls. It seems the by-elections that are due in the seat for eight seats will now be held under the leadership of a new DGP.

Sources in the know said that DGP Shivanand Jha is keen to get another extension but Minister of State for Home Pradipsinh Jadeja is not excited about the prospect.

Also Read: Former DGP Chittranjan S. is director at Vishal Fabrics where four labourers killed

The ministry has also sent a panel of 13 IPS officers to the UPSC.

The panel includes 1984 batch officer Rakesh Asthana, 1985 batch Ahmedabad police commissioner Ashish Bhatia, Home Guard Commandant, TS Bisht, Keshav Kumar of ACB, ADG police reform, Vinoid Mal.

It also includes ADG (CID Crime and CID Intelligence) Sanjay Srivastav, CRPF Additional Director AK Sharma, KK Ojha of SC/ST Cell, Sardar Patel Academy Director, Atul Karwal, CBI Joint Director, Pravin Sinha.

Additional Director (Intelligence) Vivek Srivastav, ADGP Police training Vikas Sahay, Anil Pratham of CID Crime, A’bad Crime Branch Special Commissioner Ajay Tomar are also part of the list.