Gujarat Exclusive > Politics > Delhi Assembly Elections Results: BJP’s Social Media Warrior Tajinder Bagga Backfires on His Seat

Delhi Assembly Elections Results: BJP’s Social Media Warrior Tajinder Bagga Backfires on His Seat


New Delhi: The results of Delhi Assembly elections have started coming. Everyone is having their eye on the Hari Nagar seat which is under the Delhi west Lok Sabha seat. BJP candidate from this seat Tajinder Pal Singh Bagga was leading in the early trends but he is now trailing. He is very much active on the social media especially on the Twitter and has lobs tasteless remarks at Twitter users and has been caught spreading fake news. He is been in jail so may time that his family has stopped sleep over his arrest.

Recently, Actress Deepika Padukone stood in solidarity with Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) students attacked by masked persons with sledgehammers, iron rods and rocks on the campus. She had ran a campaign on social media against the film Chhapak. BJP has fielded young candidate Tajinder Pal Singh Bagga due to Sikh and Punjabi Bahul constituencies in the assembly. During the election campaign, the Election Commission has issued notice to Bagga for his election campaign video song. To avoid the anti-incumbency wave, the Aam Aadmi Party also changed its candidate from this seat. AAP has fielded Congress leader Raj Kumari Dhillon and Congress has fielded Surinder Kumar Setia. This seat has been considered as a BJP stronghold. In 1993, it was made the assembly seat. Since then, BJP has won here four times in a row, but since 2013, BJP has not been able to win this seat.

Delhi BJP spokesperson Tajinder Pal Singh Bagga is also accused of slapping former Aam Aadmi Party leader and lawyer Prashant Bhushan. Bagga, a founding member of an organization called Bhagat Singh Kranti Sena, entered politics at the age of 16. He started politics by joining BJP’s Yuva Morcha unit. Bagga has been involved in controversies such as creating ruckus at Arundhati Roy’s book release program and demonstrating outside the Congress office in protest against Mani Shankar Iyer’s remarks.