Gujarat Exclusive > Politics > Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Voting Begins in All 70 Assembly Seats Amid Tight Security

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Voting Begins in All 70 Assembly Seats Amid Tight Security


Voting has started for all 70 seats in Delhi from 8 am today. In this election, the ruling AAP, BJP and Congress are mainly in the fray. A total of 672 candidates are trying their luck in this election. Today, 1,47,86,382 voters of Delhi will decide which party will be in power in Delhi. The results of the election will come on 11 February. For the Delhi Assembly elections, PM Narendra Modi tweet to Kejriwal and appeal to vote more.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has appealed to the youth of Delhi to vote in large numbers. He tweeted, “Today is the voting day for the Delhi Assembly elections. My appeal to all voters is that they should participate in this festival of democracy in maximum number and create a new record of voting.”

At the same time Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal has appealed to the people of Delhi to cast their vote. Kejriwal tweeted and said, “Special appeal to all women – Just as you bear the responsibility of home, the responsibility of the country and Delhi is also on your shoulders. All of you ladies must go to vote and also take the men of your house. Make sure to discuss with men that it is right to vote.”

Arrangements are been made for peaceful voting in the national capital. More than 75 thousand armed personnel of paramilitary force including Delhi Police, Home Guards are deployed on the scene. During this time a single control room will work to create synergy without wasting time. This control room has been built on the first floor in the state election headquarters campus. Additional security forces have been deployed for the security of EVMs, sensitive booths and counting centers for the Delhi elections. Out of a total of 2689 polling booths in Delhi, 545 are sensitive. While 21 counting centers have been given additional security.

Previous record
The last assembly election in Delhi was held in the year 2015. In that election, the AAP won 67 of the 70 seats in Delhi. The remaining 3 seats went to the BJP’s account. The Congress was also unable to open its account in Delhi last year.