Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > Congress scores over BJP in Rajasthan ULB polls

Congress scores over BJP in Rajasthan ULB polls


There were reasons for celebration in the Rajasthan Congress camp after the results of the 50 municipal bodies were declared. In the 12 districts in which the elections were held, the Congress emerged as the clear winner in 14 bodies, while the BJP could win only four.

Out of the total of 1775 wards, the Congress won 620 and the BJP 548. But the Independents won in a staggeringly high number of 595 which pushed the saffron party to the third spot showing a loss of votes in the urban areas where it could secure only eight per cent of the votes casted. Thus, in 32 out of the 50 local bodies, the Independents will play the role of kingmakers.

Major defeat for BJP

The Congress that suffered a rude jolt in the panchayat elections as the BJP took lead over the ruling party showed that it has a better grip on the urban votes. The BJP suffered heavily as in the 2015 elections, the saffron party won in 34 local bodies out of the 50 and the Congress five years ago could win only 14 local bodies.

This time, the BJP outscored the Congress in only Sirohi and Sawaimadhopur while the Congress performed creditably in Jaipur, Jodhpur, Kota, Baran, Dausa and Ganganagar.

Independents to support Congress

The Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee (RPCC) president, Govind Singh Dotasara said the Congress aims to form the governing boards in the majority of the 32 civic bodies where independents will play a key role. He said that independents are largely of the Congress background and are willing to support the party to form the governing boards.

In former Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje’s home district of Dholpur, both Congress and the BJP equally shared honours, but as a large number of independents are from the Congress, the Congress is hoping to form the boards there.

Ministers fail

In all five ministers in the Ashok Gehlot government in whose constituencies the civic polls were held, only Lal Chand Kataria was successful in Jaipur district. The other ministers Bhajan Lal Jatav, Rajendra Yadav, Parsadi Lal Meena and Pramod Jain failed to get the Congress to win in any of the boards in their constituencies.

“My heartiest congratulations and best wishes to all the candidates who have won the municipality and municipal council elections. I express my gratitude to the people of the state who have reposed confidence in the party leading to its victory. I thank all the workers for their hard work and congratulate them for their victory.” Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot tweeted.

Rajasthan BJP president Satish Poonia said the Congress misused the official machinery for its success.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here