Gujarat Exclusive > Politics > Congress, Left Front enter into alliance for Bengal polls

Congress, Left Front enter into alliance for Bengal polls


With the upcoming Assembly poll in West Bengal likely to remain a contest between the ruling TMC and the BJP, the Congress and the Left Front have formed an alliance to contest the poll. Congress chief Sonia Gandhi has approved the alliance and party MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury has confirmed the development.

Chowdhury took to Twitter to announce the same. He said, “Today, the Congress high command has formally approved the electoral alliance with the Left parties in the impending election of West Bengal.”

The leader of the Left Front in Bengal, the CPI(M) central committee had approved the alliance decision in October itself. The proposal was then moved by the Bengal unit of the party for alliance with the Congress.

Not the first time for Congress

The development is not a good sign for the TMC that is already facing an exodus of its leaders. Political experts say that considering the prevalent situation in the Congress, there are negligible chances of the alliance making it to the winning mark. Also, some say that Congress will remain confined to winning its traditional seats.

This is not the first time that the Congress and the Left will contest the Bengal election together. They had an electoral alliance in Bengal in 2016 state polls, when Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress returned to power with a greater majority.

Also Read: IPL to become a 10-team contest from 2022

But back then the central committee of the CPI(M) had not approved the Bengal unit’s decision to contest assembly election in alliance with the Congress. The experiment did not succeed as the alliance won just 71 seats, with the Congress becoming a senior partner with 40 seats.

BJP trying to woo voters

West Bengal will go to the polls in April-May for its 294 assembly seats. A party or coalition needs to win more than 147 seats to form government in Bengal, but the BJP leadership has expressed confidence that it will win more than 200 seats.

The BJP led by JP Nadda, Amit Shah and Kailash Vijayvargiya is leaving no stone unturned to make inroads into Bengal.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here