Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > Congress deputes Priyanka Gandhi, 3 others to save Rajasthan govt

Congress deputes Priyanka Gandhi, 3 others to save Rajasthan govt


Prakash Bhandari, Jaipur: In a bid to put an end to the political crisis in Rajasthan, the Congress has deputed four top leaders to find a workable solution. The Congress leaders appointed for the purpose include Priyanka Gandhi, Ahmed Patel, KC Venugopal and Mukul Wasnik.

The Congress leaders will speak to both Ashok Gehlot and Sachin Pilot to work out a solution. Sources said the four leaders will try to amicably settle the differences between Gehlot and Pilot.

Congress high command to avoid floor test

The Congress high command has made up its mind to avoid any floor test when the state Assembly session begins on August 14. The four leaders have been entrusted to ensure that dissidents do not vote against the government.

HC notices served to BSP MLAs

Meanwhile, the Rajasthan High Court’s notices to the six merged members of the BSP were served on Friday. The notices were served by an official of the Jaisalmer district court in the presence of the Jaisalmer SP. The notices were served at Hotel Suryagarh, where the Gehlot loyalists are billeted now.

Also Read: India’s COVID-19 tally gallops past 20 lakh-mark

The notices were to be served to the six BSP MLAs by August 8 on the issue of their merger into Congress. The Speaker CP Joshi was also served the notice by the high court.

HC to deliver verdict on BSP MLAs merger before Assembly session

The Assembly session has been convened from August 14 onwards. Prior to it, the Rajasthan High Court will deliver its verdict on the merger issue. Both BSP and the BJP through separate petitions have questioned the merger allowed by Speaker CP Joshi.

The BSP in its petition has requested the court to refrain the merged BSP MLAs from voting in the Assembly. If BSP’s plea is accepted, it would create a crisis Gehlot who is desperately trying to save the government.

Congress high command wants to save Rajasthan govt

It is learned that Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi’s foremost consideration is to save the government by avoiding any floor test. The Congress party has its governments only in Rajasthan, Punjab, Chhattisgarh and Puducherry. The over a century-old party cannot afford to lose another state after losing Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh to BJP.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here