Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > Civic body polls: Patidar-dominated AMC wards see low voter turnout

Civic body polls: Patidar-dominated AMC wards see low voter turnout


The civic body polls for the six municipal corporations in the state including the AMC came to an end on Sunday. Patidar-dominated nine wards in the city saw a low voter turnout which is a bit surprising as the Patidar community leaders had called for active participation in the civic body polls.

Western areas of the AMC that have domination of Patidar, Dalit, and OBC voters showed minimum enthusiasm for voting. Eastern areas that have Dalit, OBC, and Muslim voters saw good voter turnout.

The voter turnout in the old city areas of Khadia stood at 47.87% while it was 41.83% in Jamalpur, 43.11% in Shahpur, and 48.55% in Dariyapur.

Gomtipur ward that has domination of Muslim and Dalit voters saw 51.26% voter turnout, the highest in the AMC.

Also Read: Slip of Tongue: Gujarat minister urges people to vote for Congress

Chandlodia that has domination of OBC voters, Thaltej that has domination of Patidar voters, and OBC-dominated Bodakdev, Jodhpur, and Paldi wards had low voter turnout. In all, seven such wards had a turnout of less than 40%.

Shahpur, Khadia, Jamalpur, and Dariyapur have domination of Muslim voters saw good voter turnout.

Not just Patidars, overall turnout in AMC lowest

The average voter turnout for the six municipal corporation elections in Gujarat was around 42%. In all 144 wards across six civic bodies- Ahmedabad, Surat, Rajkot, Vadodara, Bhavnagar, and Jamnagar- went to polls on Sunday.

Ahmedabad had the lowest turnout of voters at 38.73%, while Jamnagar recorded the highest at 49.86%. Rajkot recorded a turnout of 47.27%, Bhavnagar 43.66%, Surat 43.52%, and Vadodara 43.47%.

Nearly 2,276 candidates are in the fray and their future will be decided on February 23 when results for these six municipal corporations will be declared.

Out of the 2,276 candidates, 577 are from BJP, 566 from Congress, 470 from AAP, 91 from NCP, 353 from other parties and 228 Independents.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here