Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > Centre warns Gujarat, 10 other states to take steps against spread of dengue

Centre warns Gujarat, 10 other states to take steps against spread of dengue


At a time when the COVID-19 pandemic continues to remain a threat for several states in India, the Union government has issued a fresh warning to 11 states on the emerging challenge of ‘Serotype-II Dengue’ that results in more complications compared to other forms of the disease. Gujarat is among the states that have been warned by the Centre.

Apart from Gujarat, the other states that have been warned include Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Rajasthan, Telangana and Tamil Nadu.

States asked to take steps against the spread of dengue

Since these 11 states are reporting cases of Serotype-II Dengue’, they have been asked the Union government to take steps for early detection of cases, operationalise fever helplines and stock adequate medicines, testing kits and larvicides.

States were also requested to also undertake campaigns regarding helplines, methods of vector control, source reduction at homes and symptoms of dengue. Earlier, the health ministry had issued an advisory to these states in August and on September 10.

Dengue infections are caused by four closely related viruses called serotypes. Each of these four viruses (DEN-1, DEN-2, DEN-3, and DEN-4) has different interactions with the antibodies in human blood serum. Dengue serotype 2 viruses have the potential to cause dengue hemorrhagic fever and have been shown to belong to the Southeast (SE) Asian genotype.

The Dengue virus belongs to the family Flaviviridae and comprises the four antigenically distinct serotypes. Human infections are acquired by the bite of the mosquito, usually by Aedes aegypti, and often present as a self-limited febrile illness, dengue fever.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here