Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > Bypolls in 8 seats of Gujarat to be held at the same time as Bihar elections

Bypolls in 8 seats of Gujarat to be held at the same time as Bihar elections


The bypolls for eight seats in Gujarat will be held at the same time as the Bihar Assembly polls. The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Friday said 65 by-elections across the country and General assembly elections in Bihar will be held at the same time.

The commission said clubbing them together will help in ease of movement of CAPF/other law and order forces and also take care of the logistics issues at one go.


It said the schedule for the by-elections across the country including eight seats in Gujarat as well as the Bihar General Assembly elections will be announced at the appropriate time.

Several bypolls were deferred due to excessive rains and the COVID-19 pandemic. The term of the Bihar assembly ends on November 29 and elections are likely to be held by October-November.

By-elections in Gujarat

Earlier there were speculations that the by-polls in the state will be postponed due to COVID-19. The Congress had even moved a petition in the high court in this connection. 

The EC on its part has not given any hint that the elections will be postponed. In August, the Gujarat high court also dismissed as premature a PIL seeking postponement of by-elections to eight assembly seats in Gujarat.

The by-elections in Gujarat for eight seats were necessitated after eight Congress MLAs resigned from the party ahead of the Rajya Sabha polls in Gujarat.

Also Read: Gujarat COVID-19 Update: 1,320 new cases recorded

The eight vacant assembly constituencies are Abdasa, Limdi, Karjan, Dangs, Kaprada, Morbi, Gadhda and Dhari. Initially, four MLAs of the Congress resigned in the run-up to the Rajya Sabha polls but by the time the polls were held, four more had resigned. 

This had helped three candidates of the BJP win the Rajya Sabha polls while only one of the Congress sailed through. Originally as per the strength, Congress was poised to win two seats but the resignation of its eight MLAs spoiled Congress’ game plan.

BJP appoints by-election in charge

The BJP had earlier named 16 party leaders as in-charge for the by-polls. Each constituency was given two in-charge- one person each from the government and the party.

Apart from the 16 party leaders, former minister Shankar Chaudhary and senior party leader Bhargav Bhatt were also appointed as the state-level coordinators for the preparations of the bypolls.

EC carries out delimitation

The State Election Commission (SEC) on Friday said it has carried out a delimitation exercise for five municipal corporations, six municipalities, 16 district panchayats and 29 taluka panchayats.

Also Read: 410 Pakistani Hindus to return to India

In a release, the SEC said the delimitation was done as per the 2011 census and covered all geographical areas of local bodies that have changed since 2015.

The five municipal corporations where the exercise was carried out were Ahmedabad, Surat, Rajkot, Vadodara and Bhavnagar. The six municipalities include Navsari-Vijalpur, Porbandar-Chaya, Morbi, Savarkundla, Petlad and Surendranagar-Dhudrej-Wadhwan.

To read the latest news in Gujarati click here