Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > By-polls: 2 Cong Patidar leaders in race for a ticket from this seat in Saurashtra

By-polls: 2 Cong Patidar leaders in race for a ticket from this seat in Saurashtra


The fight for tickets for the by-polls to the eight assembly seats in Gujarat has already begun. The Election Commission on Tuesday announced that it will hold by-polls in eight seats of Gujarat on November 3. The results will be declared along with the Bihar Assembly election results on November 20.

If sources in the know are to be believed, two Patidar leaders in Congress are at loggerheads over a seat in Saurashtra where the party has a better prospect of winning.

Who is vying for which seat in the by-polls

Sources said for Dhari seat Congress leader Virji Thummar is keen to get a ticket for his own daughter Jeniben Thummar. She is at present the head of the Amreli Jilla Panchayat and sources said it is highly likely that she may get the ticket.

Another leader who wants the ticket for his own man is Leader of Opposition in Gujarat Assembly Paresh Dhanani. He wants the ticket for Suresh Kotadiya. Interestingly, both the leaders vying for the seat are Patidars, who hold much sway in the region.

Sources also said that if Dhanani doesn’t play spoilsport if the ticket allocation does not go his way, the party has a better chance at winning the seat. 

Also Read: Hathras gang-rape: PM Modi seeks strong punishment, Congress seeks CM’s resignation

It should be noted that voters are likely to be annoyed with former MLA from Dhari JV Kakadiya who left the Congress for the BJP ahead of the Rajya Sabha elections.

By-polls in Gujarat

Earlier there were speculations that the by-polls in Gujarat will be postponed due to COVID-19. The Congress had even moved a petition in the high court in this connection. 

In August, the Gujarat high court also dismissed as premature a PIL seeking postponement of by-elections to eight assembly seats in Gujarat.

The by-elections in Gujarat for eight seats were necessitated after eight Congress MLAs resigned from the party ahead of the Rajya Sabha polls in Gujarat.

The eight vacant assembly constituencies are Abdasa, Limdi, Karjan, Dangs, Kaprada, Morbi, Gadhda and Dhari which will go to polls on November 3.

Initially, four MLAs of the Congress resigned in the run-up to the Rajya Sabha polls but by the time the polls were held, four more had resigned. 

This had helped three candidates of the BJP win the Rajya Sabha polls while only one of the Congress sailed through.

Originally as per the strength, Congress was poised to win two seats but the resignation of its eight MLAs spoiled Congress’ game plan.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here