Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > BJP wins Vadodara Municipal Corporation, one seat away from winning Jamnagar

BJP wins Vadodara Municipal Corporation, one seat away from winning Jamnagar


The BJP has emerged as the winner in Vadodara Municipal Corporation. The saffron party has already won 45 of the 76 seats thus crossing the majority mark with ease.

The counting for the remaining seats is going on and BJP is leading in many of them. Notably, the magic figure in Vadodara Municipal Corporation is 39. The Congress has won only seven seats so far.

With the victory, BJP will retain power in Vadodara Municipal Corporation for the fourth consecutive term.

As far as the 2015 results are concerned, BJP had then won 58 of the 76 seats, Congress won 14 seats, whereas four seats were won by the Rashtriya Samaj Paksh led by Rajesh Ayare. He had left BJP in the same year. Bypolls for VMC held after the death of a Congress councillor in Ward 13 pushed the saffron party’s tally to 59, whereas Congress’ tally reduced to 13.

Interestingly, Ayare has returned to the BJP fold this year.

BJP’s status in Rajkot, Jamnagar, Bhavnagar

As far as the results/trends in other municipal corporations in Gujarat is concerned, BJP has so far won 24 seats out of 72 in Rajkot, 32 out of 64 in Jamnagar and 15 out of 52 seats in Bhavanagar. Congress tally is nil, six and five respectively. BJP now needs just one more seat to retain power in Jamnagar.

Average 46% voter turnout

Voting for the six municipal corporations was held on Sunday between 7 am and 6 pm. The State Election Commission (SEC) has pegged the average voter turnout to be around 46.08 per cent in the municipal corporation elections. Ahmedabad recorded the lowest turnout of 42.51 per cent, while Jamnagar saw the highest turnout of 53.38 per cent, followed by 50.72 per cent in Rajkot, 49.46 per cent in Bhavnagar, 47.84 per cent in Vadodara and 47.14 per cent in Surat.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here