Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > BJP wins Morva Hadaf bypoll

BJP wins Morva Hadaf bypoll


BJP’s Nimisha Suthar has won the Morva Hadaf Assembly seat for which election was held on April 17 defeating the Congress candidate by a margin of over 21,000 votes.

Congress had fielded Suresh Katara from Morva Hadaf who could manage 45,432 votes against BJP’s Nimisha Suthar who secured over 67,000 votes. Interestingly, Suthar had won from Morva Hadaf in a bypoll in 2013.

Notably, Morva Hadaf in Gujarat’s Panchmahals district is a seat reserved for Scheduled Tribe (ST) candidates.  The seat turned vacant as an independent MLA from the constituency Bhupendrasinh Khant was disqualified from the Legislative Assembly in May 2019 for submitting an invalid caste certificate.

Also Read: BJP leads in Assam, Puducherry; losing Bengal. Here are the latest trends

Khant had moved the Gujarat High Court challenging his disqualification. However, he lost the case in high court. The independent leader died in January, 2021, due to health issues.

Allegations against BJP candidate

Earlier, Congress candidate Suresh Katara had filed a complaint before the Election Commission against BJP candidate Nimisha Suthar for submitting a fake caste certificate. Congress had alleged Suthar is not from the Scheduled Tribe, but she was fighting the poll from a seat reserved for Scheduled Tribe. Notably, the Morva Hadaf seat is reserved for Scheduled Tribe candidates.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here