Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > BJP won’t field candidate against TMC’s Sushmita Dev in Rajya Sabha bypoll

BJP won’t field candidate against TMC’s Sushmita Dev in Rajya Sabha bypoll


The BJP on Monday announced that it will not field a candidate for the Rajya Sabha bypoll scheduled on October 4 in West Bengal, which essentially means that TMC leader Sushmita Dev will win the election unopposed. Notably, the Rajya Sabha seat turned vacant as TMC’s Manas Bhunia quit the Rajya Sabha after winning the Assembly election from Sabang in Paschim Medinipur.

Leader of Opposition Suvendu Adhikari made an announcement in this regard. He said, “BJP will not nominate any candidate for Rajyasabha bypoll due in West Bengal. Outcome is predetermined. Our focus is to make sure unelected CM to be unelected once again. Jai Ma Kali.”

Last week, TMC named Sushmita Dev, who recently joined the party after quitting the Congress, as its candidate for the bypoll. Dev, the daughter of veteran Congress leader from Assam the late Santosh Mohan Dev, was the chief of the women’s wing of the Congress. She is likely to file her nomination on Monday.

In an earlier bypoll for a Rajya Sabha seat in July, the BJP had decided against fielding its nominee. TMC candidate and former Prasar Bharati CEO Jawhar Sircar had got elected unopposed.

BJP losing ground in Bengal

The BJP had won 77 of the 292 seats in the March-April assembly elections and the Trinamool Congress 213. The ISF and GJM had bagged one seat each. BJP MLAs Nisith Pramanik and Jagannath Sarkar resigned to retain their Lok Sabha seats, bringing down the party’s strength in the Assembly to 75. Four other BJP legislators switched over to the TMC but are yet to resign as MLAs.

On Saturday, Asansol MP and former Union minister Babul Supriyo too dumped the saffron party to join the Trinamool Congress.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here