Gujarat Exclusive > Politics > BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari’s convoy attacked in Bengal

BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari’s convoy attacked in Bengal


In yet another incident of political violence, the convoy of BJP candidate Suvendu Adhikari, who is contesting the poll from Nandigram against TMC chief Mamata Banerjee, was attacked on Thursday. However, Suvendu Adhikari escaped unhurt.

According to media reports, the incident took place in Nandigram’s Satengabari area. While Adhikari’s convoy was passing through the area, stones were pelted in which the BJP leader’s car was damaged, but he escaped unhurt. A vehicle of a media outlet that was following Adhikari was also damaged in the attack.

Suvendu Adhikari blames Mamta Banerjee

Following the attack, Adhikari said, “People hurled stones from paddy fields. People of one community, illiterate, are doing this after being incited by Mamata Banerjee.”

Earlier during the day, the BJP leader rode a motorcycle to the Nandanayak Primary School to cast his vote in Nandigram for the first time. Minutes after voting, Suvendu Adhikari told the media that all of Nandigram had come out to vote in favour of the BJP.

Also Read: 72,330 COVID-19 cases, 459 deaths in a day in India

“I have a very old relationship with the people of the area,” Adhikari said.

There are also media reports claiming an alleged attack on the convoy of BJP candidate Pritishranjan Konar. The convoy of Konar, who is the party’s candidate from Keshpur in West Midnapore, was also attacked on Thursday.

West Bengal Assembly poll

The second phase of voting for 30 Assembly constituencies in Bengal, including Nandigram, is going on today. The focus of the polls in Bengal has been the epic battle in Nandigram, which will decide the fate of Mamata Banerjee and TMC turncoat Suvendu Adhikari.

Given the volatile nature of the constituency and West Bengal’s history of political violence, the Election Commission has deployed at least 22 companies of central forces in constituencies where voting is underway in the second phase.

Several TMC leaders, including ministers, have defected to the BJP ahead of the polls and the saffron party is leaving no stone unturned to snatch power in the state from TMC.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here