Gujarat Exclusive > Politics > BJP Set to Lose 7 States Election in 2 Years, Will BJP Still Edge on Polarization Policy?

BJP Set to Lose 7 States Election in 2 Years, Will BJP Still Edge on Polarization Policy?


The victory of AAP in Delhi Assembly elections raises many questions, reassures the country in many cases and points to many new equations, which may have far-reaching consequences. These results give the BJP an ultimatum to change its strategy, while the opposition is also advised to unite. But the most important question is will the BJP really learn from these results and change its strategy? Or it will give more edge to its polarization policy.

The results of Delhi Assembly have made it quite clear that the people of Delhi have rejected the strategy of communalism and polarization. Pakistan is not an issue for the public nor is it bad to call Biriyani. The result was that the BJP, which has been in exile for 22 years will now have to wait for 5 more years. Not seeing the end of BJP’s exile, now the BJP leaders are following the footsteps of Sudhir Chaudhary and telling the people of Delhi as greedy.

Along with Delhi, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has lost power in seven states in last two years. The BJP had won just 3 seats in Delhi last time is expected better performance this time. Delhi’s state BJP president Manoj Tiwari had hoped to win 48 seats with the hope of coming to power till the last minute. But Kejriwal swept the BJP hoping for Delhi’s return to power. There are still government of anti-BJP parties in 12 states including Delhi. The NDA has government in 16 states. 42 percent of the population lives in these states.

The Congress is in power in Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Punjab, Puducherry on its own or through alliance. After forming the government in Jharkhand in December elections, the Congress has government in 7 states. In Delhi, the AAP has won for the third time in a row. Trinamool Congress in West Bengal, CPI (M) -led coalition in Kerala, YSR Congress in Andhra Pradesh, BJD in Odisha and TRS in Telangana.

Another state is Tamil Nadu, where the BJP fought Lok Sabha elections with the AIADMK but it does not have a single MLA in the state. Therefore, he is not a partner in power. The NDA was in a better position in December 2017. The BJP and its allies had 19 states. A year later BJP lost power in three states of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh. Now Congress government are here. The fourth state is Andhra Pradesh, where the BJP-TDP alliance was in government. In March 2018, the TDP broke the alliance with BJP. YSR Congress formed the government here in the assembly elections held in 2019. The fifth state is Maharashtra, where the Shiv Sena left the NDA after the elections and recently formed a government with the Congress-NCP. Now Delhi has once again disappointed the BJP