Gujarat Exclusive > Politics > BJP rules the roost in Rajasthan local body polls

BJP rules the roost in Rajasthan local body polls


The Congress suffered a rude jolt in the panchayat elections as the BJP took lead over the ruling party. In the elections held in 21 out of the 33 districts, the BJP won 353 of the zila parishad seats, The Congress could win 252 seats for the zila parishad, the CPI(M) two, Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLP) 10 and Independents won 18 seats.

The BJP won 1990 panchayat seats against the Congress 1852 seats. The elections in the remaining 12 districts could not be held because of an order by the Rajasthan High Court. Meanwhile, RLP won 60 panchayat seats, BSP won five, CPI(M) 26 seats and the Independents won 439 seats. Thus, the Independents would be crucial in several panchayat samitis in forming the governing board.

2 die in clashes post results

A father-son duo died in clashes between two groups in Sikar district after the election results were declared. The deceased were identified as Kanaram Jat and his father Pyarelal Jat belonging to Balod Bari under the Fatehpur subdivision of Sikar district.

The elections were held for 222 panchayat samitis of Ajmer, Banswara, Barmer, Bhilwara, Bikaner, Bundi, Chittorgarh, Churu, Dungarpur, Hanumangarh, Jaisalmer, Jalore, Jhalawar, Jhunjhunu, Nagaur, Pali, Pratapgarh, Rajsamand, Sikar, Tonk, and Udaipur.

A total of 1778 candidates contested the zila parishad elections, while a total of 12,663 candidates contested the panchayat poll.

Five years ago, the BJP managed to get 14 of its nominees elected as the zila pramukh. This time the number was one less. The Congress had seven zila pramukhs in the last election. This time it could win five zila pramukh seats.

Congress leaders failed

The Congress suffered a rude jolt as a majority of the top Congress and failed to get the party victories. The PCC president Govind Singh Dotasara, and cabinet ministers including health minister Raghu Sharma, forest minister Sukhram Bishnoi, sports minister Ashok Chandna, revenue minister Harish Choudhary failed to secure the win of Congress candidates as zila pramukhs.

Also Read: COVID Hospital fire: SC seeks inquiry report from Gujarat government

Dotasara in his own constituency of Laxmangarh could not get the Congress candidate to win the pradhan’s seat which was won by the BJP. This is a setback for Dotasara, who is a three-time winner in the Vidhan Sabha election from Laxmangarh. In Laxmangarh, the BJP won 13 out of the 25 seats, while the Congress could win 11.

Former Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje did well in her district Jhalawar where the BJP candidate won the zila pramukh election. The BJP candidates were successful in five of the eight panchayat samitis in the Jhalawar district. Union minister Arjun Meghwal’s son Ravi Meghwal lost the Bikaner Zila Parishad election.

The RLP, which is an alliance partner of the BJP, contested the election on its own and it won 56 seats which is not a bad performance.

BJP leaders celebrate victory

There was jubilation in the BJP camp following the results and former Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje said that the people voted against the Congress because of its misrule and the arrogance of the ministers and babudom. She said the victory of BJP was also a vote for the Modi government and its policies.

Union minister Gajendra Singh Shekhawat said that the victory of the BJP in the panchayat poll was an indicator that the people in the rural areas were not happy with the Congress government.

BJP won 44% seats in panchayat samitis

The BJP won 44 per cent of seats in the panchayat samitis and 55 per cent seats in the zila parishad elections. The BJP has emerged strongly in the elections and it is in a position to form its governing boards in 14 districts of Ajmer, Barmer, Bhilwara, Bundi, Chittorgarh, Churu, Jalore, Jhalawar, Jhunjhunu, Pali, Rajsamand, Sikar, Tonk and Udaipur.

The Congress performed dismally and could form its boards in only five districts of Banswara, Bhilwara, Pratapgarh, Hanumangarh and Jaisalmer.

BJP has better organisational set-up

The Congress suffered heavily as the organisational set-up of the BJP was better and the Congress MLAs were responsible for nominating unworthy candidates.

The BJP fought elections with greater care and chose the right candidates and was supported by the party’s MLAs and MPs in the campaign. The results of the panchayat elections show the ruling party in poor light and the party might face more challenges in the next Vidhan Sabha election.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here